DIY Clean your Bling

4 Mar

RingCleanerMy wedding ring looks great when it’s clean but it tends to get dingy very quickly. While I’d love to have the jeweler clean it regularly, I’m a girl on the go and I don’t have time for that. So,  I tried out a few DIY ring cleaner recipes that I heard about from family/friends and the 3 recipes I’m sharing are the ones I like the best. I chose these because they’re all easy, require products that I already have & the best part….they work, yea! The only issue is that I now feel compelled to do the Miss America wave so that I can show off my clean, shiny ring…….I need to put the kabosh on that right away 😉

1. Ammonia Cleaner: This is the one I use most often

  • Mix 1 part ammonia & 3 parts warm water in a small bowl or cup
  • Let ring sit in solution for about 5 minutes
  • Gently rub with a soft bristle toothbrush (make sure it’s soft bristle)
  • Dry with lint-free cloth (You don’t want fibers to get into your ring)

2. Baking Soda Cleaner :

  • Put a little baking soda in a dish
  • Put a little warm water in the bowl, to make a paste
  • Rub that paste all around the ring using soft bristle toothbrush
  • Wash off with water
  • Dry with lint free cloth

If your ring is really dirty, you can repeat this process.

3. Liquid Dishwasher Detergent Cleaner :

  • Mix 1 part detergent & 3 parts warm water
  • Dip a soft bristle toothbrush in the mixture & give the ring a good brushing
  • Dry off with lint-free cloth

If your ring is really dirty, you can soak it in this solution for an hour or more…even overnight & then polish, rinse & dry.

4 Responses to “DIY Clean your Bling”

  1. alotonyourplate March 4, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    I am loving these tips! Going to try the third one out right now, lol! 🙂

    • Momasaurus March 4, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      Thank You!!! Hope it works out well for you 🙂

  2. Janelle Gurnsey March 5, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Love this one…..my Bling looks way more blingier!

    • Jill March 6, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Can’t wait to try this. Every time I wash my hands I think about how desperately I need to clean my ring…but I never do. On my list for this weekend!

Leave a Reply

